MemberlistThe Library Index  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Sons of Thunder (NEW CONCEPTS)
Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ishmael

In: Toronto

DPCrisp wrote:
Jupiter has got me wondering. D, J and Z are cognate. (TZ in modern Greek is 'dg', for instance. French J is 'zh'.) And we all know V = U. So Jupiter = Jovis-pater, "Jove Father" (dyaus pitr in Sanskrit) is but a short step from Zeus-pater.

I started playing with the pronunciation of Jupiter according to your transliterations and interpolations of sounds. Substituting 'Z' for 'J' and 'e' for 'u' I read 'Jupiter' as 'Zepeter.' As I spoke aloud, my ear heard something familiar: the name 'Zebedee' -- the 'father' of the disciples 'James' and 'John.'

Mark 3:17 of the New Testament reads:

and James, the son of Zebedee, and John the brother of James (to them He gave the name Boanerges, which means, "Sons of Thunder")

James and John, the sons of 'Zebedee', are also the 'sons of thunder'. Most Biblical scholars suppose James and John had bad tempers to earn this nickname from Jesus (where do they get the gall to draw such unevidenced conclusions?). We now know, thanks to your ideas, that the phrase was not some 'nickname' at all! It is a reference to "Zeus Father" or Jupiter: "Zebedee."

James and John are the Sons of Zeus! They are, in essence, Sons of God!

How was the name 'Zebedee' actually pronounced I do not know. Did the word begin with a 'Z' sound or was it an 'I-Y' sound?

But it also means the J should be pronounced in the familiar way (as in 'edge'). But they tell us J in Latin is like I or Y. Iesus = Jesus,

Now...would not the name 'Jesus' itself also be a possible derivative of Zeus? 'Zesus' meaning 'of Zeus?'